

MEMORANDUM

Robert G. FARK

TO:

UNM Campus Community

FROM:

Robert G. Frank, President

DATE:

September 12, 2012

SUBJECT:

RCM & PBB Steering Committee

As I communicated to the campus community in my August 28, 2012 correspondence, I believe it is imperative that the university begins discussions about how to move from the current incremental based budget model to a more strategic based model that relies upon the principles of the following two funding methodologies:

- Responsibility Center Management (RCM)
- Performance Based Budgeting (PBB)

As promised, the evaluation of elements of these methodologies for incorporation into the UNM budget process will be a "highly collaborative, consultative process," and will be led by a steering committee with 3 co-chairs led by Provost Chaouki Abdallah, Academic Affairs; David Harris, EVP for Administration; and Chancellor Paul Roth, Health Sciences Center. The steering committee members selected for this project can be found on the following page and represent faculty and staff from all levels of the university. It is important to remember that the new budget process is meant to build upon the successes achieved during the last several budget cycles, but will most importantly include performance guidelines and metrics that will inform budget planning and revenue allocations.

Again, I look forward to ongoing communication with the campus community as the steering committee evaluates various RCM and PBB principles and formalizes new budget development and allocation plans for FY14.

RCM/PBB Committee

Co-Chairs:	Title	Email
Chaouki Abdallah	Provost/EVP for Academic Affairs	chaouki@ece.unm.edu
David Harris	EVP for Administration, COO & CFO	dwharris@unm.edu
Paul Roth	Chancellor, HSC	Proth@salud.unm.edu
Academic Affairs:		
Terry Babbitt	AVP for Enrollment Management	tbabbitt@unm.edu
Janie Chermak	Professor: Economics Department	jchermak@unm.edu
Pete Morgan	Chief Financial Officer: School of Engineering	pmorgan@unm.edu
Amy Neel	Associate Professor: Speech and Hearing Sciences	atneel@unm.edu
Carol Parker	Associate Dean: School of Law	cparker@law.unm.edu
Mark Peceny	Interim Dean: College of Arts and Sciences	markpec@unm.edu
Curtis Porter	AVP for Academic Administration	cporter@unm.edu
Catalin Roman	Dean: School of Engineering	gcroman@unm.edu
Nancy Ridenour	Dean: College of Nursing	NRidenour@salud.unm.edu
Jane Smith	Chairperson: Psychology Department	janellen@unm.edu
Terry Turner	Office of Institutional Research: Business Intelligence Officer	terryjturner@unm.edu
Craig White	Chairperson: Anderson School of Management	white@mgt.unm.edu
Administration:		
Andrew Cullen	AVP for Planning, Budget & Analysis	acullen@unm.edu
Robert Fondino	Chief Budget & Finance Officer: HSC	RFondino@salud.unm.edu
Kevin Stevenson	Assoc. Dir. for Fin & Dev: Center for Ed Policy Research	kevings@unm.edu